Collegiate Director’s Letter

I hope your November is off to a great start! Did you get the chance to be one of the more than 7,000 women at WE13 a few weeks ago? If so, what did you get out of the conference? Every day that I spent in Baltimore was filled with energy, new people to meet, old friends and lots of things to learn. WE13 was full of exciting firsts for me, including my first time presenting at a Society conference, my first time recruiting for my company and my first time attending the Achievement Awards dinner. One of my favorite parts of the conference this year was presenting a session. Preparing for the session was a good exercise in virtual communications – my co-presenters were from the opposite coast, so the first time we met in person was at the conference. At the session itself, we had a lot of interesting discussion with the audience and I think we all learned a lot from one another. The friendly and collaborative environment of SWE is a great place to practice your presentation skills. I definitely recommend applying to present at your Region’s conference this spring or at WE14 next fall.

As you start planning for the year ahead, I also encourage you to think about leadership positions within SWE. If you are interested in getting more involved with SWE, developing your leadership skills, working in teams or in a global environment, SWE leadership positions are a fantastic way to gain experience. There are opportunities at the Region level for RCR, RCCE, RCS, CLCC coaches and Region committee members, and at the Society level as Collegiate Director, in coordinator roles or on Society committees. All of these options are a rewarding way to hone your skills and meet new people. The applications for many of these positions will soon come out, so it is certainly something to start considering. Feel free to contact me with questions regarding my experience as Collegiate Director or in other leadership roles. I’ll be sharing some more about the Collegiate Director position on the Region blogs in the near future.

Ellen McIsaac

Ellen McIsaac
FY14 Collegiate Director
Collegiate-director@swe.org

 

 

 

Letter from the All Together SWE Newsletter

 

Leave a Reply

