Get to Know Sarvenaz Laussermair, Your SWE RCR/RCCE Coordinator-Elect!

Sarvenaz Laussermair graduated fromSarvenaz_Headshot the University of Florida (UF) in the Spring of 2013 with a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science Engineering. The Society of Women Engineers was the first society that she became involved with at UF as a Freshman, and is the one she remains most passionate about today. Sarvenaz became the Athletic Director of UF’s section as a Freshman and immediately fell in love with the camaraderie and opportunities that the society offered. She was elected to be the Internal Vice President her Sophomore year, and collectively helped create one of their most popular annual traditions, the Mr. Engineer Pageant. Sarvenaz was chapter president during her Junior year, where they ultimately doubled active membership and won the Outstanding Collegiate Section award at the 2012 annual SWE conference. Then, she went on to represent the collegiate members as one of the Region D RCRs. Currently Sarvenaz is the RCR/RCCE Coordinator-Elect, a CLCC member, and a member of the Tampa Bay SWE section. Sheis very grateful to have become involved with SWE and for the personal growth that it has fostered. As a professional, Sarvenaz is in the Emerging Leaders Program at Nielsen located in Tampa. Her current role is as a Project Manager in the Engineering Service Delivery division.

Why did you apply for RCR/RCCE Coordinator?

I was completely obsessed with SWE as a collegiate, and I didn’t want my involvement to end just because I graduated. I was an RCR during my senior year and had accumulated a ton of ideas of how to to share best practices, improve existing processes, and leverage my Computer Science background to make it easier for RCRs and RCCEs to help section SWE leaders. I definitely look forward to staying involved with SWE as a professional in the future.

What does SWE mean to you?
SWE means so much to me because I believe in everything that it stands for. When I first joined as a Freshman, I didn’t have a clue what to expect from my engineering major. SWE helped guide and support me from the beginning, and encouraged me to do the same when I gained more experience and confidence throughout the years. The professional development, networking, and outreach are some of my favorite aspects of SWE, and it is so inspiring to be surrounded by such a diverse, passionate community.
CategoriesUncategorized

Leave a Reply

