Get to Know Cynthia Ramirez, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

Cynthia Ramirez is a sophomore in MaterialsCynthia Ramirez 2 Science Engineering with a minor in English at Purdue University. She has been involved in PSWE since her freshman year. Cynthia was first the Social Chair, then became the SWEetie Sidekick Chair along with a TEAMS volunteer. She is going to be the Membership Vitality Director for the upcoming school year. She is also involved in the Women in Engineering Program as a Small Group Leader for the past year and as part of the Mentor & Mentee program. For the upcoming fiscal year, Cynthia will be the Region Collegiate Representative (RCR).

Why did you apply for Region H SWEFL?

I applied to be a SWE Future Leader because I wanted to learn more about SWE on the National and Regional level. I saw it as a great opportunity to get to meet SWE members from other collegiate sections and also create relationships with professional leaders. It was also great to have access to the leadership development material from SWE that I could use for myself.  I was also really honored to have been recognized by my officers in a short amount of time for my leadership potential. Being recognized for your work and involvement just means that much more, especially when you think no one’s watching. So to have that recognition really gave me a new sense of my leadership abilities and how to help others.

What does SWE mean to you?

To me, SWE means being able to have a connection of people who are there to support you in the different aspects of your life. Whether it’s technical development, professional networking or outreach opportunities, SWE can always provide something for you. I think SWE is an amazing place to find what you love and develop the skills necessary. SWE is a great place for me to be able to reach out to others and help others learn more about engineering. I am so honored to be a member of this wonderful organization and am so lucky to have found this and become involved during my undergraduate career.

CategoriesUncategorized

One Reply to “Get to Know Cynthia Ramirez, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!”

Leave a Reply

