Get to Know Hannah Lyons, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

My name is Hannah Lyons, Hannah Lyonsand I just finished my third year as civil engineering student at Michigan Technological University. SWE has been an important part of my life since freshman year and I have held several positions including; Outreach Director, Fundraising Chair and Social Chair. And I was the City Relations Chair for the 2014 Region H conference, as well as being recognized as a Region H SWEFL. Next year I will be our chapters Vice President of Membership.  At Michigan Tech I am also involved in Blue Key Honor Society, Women’s Club Soccer team and Delta Zeta National Sorority. Last summer I completed my first internship with Skanska USA Building, Inc. focusing on construction.

Why did you apply for Region H SWEFL?

I didn’t know about the SWEFL program until a friend/ Mentor nominated me for it. After being nominated I discovered all the exciting opportunities that come with being a SWEFL. I learned a lot being a SWEFL and attending CLI at the national conference in Baltimore. Becoming a SWEFL has also helped me learn how SWE functions on a societal level.

What does SWE mean to you?

I think SWE is amazing. Not only is it a way to encourage more female engineers, it is also a great organization for networking and professional development. During my time as a SWE member I have made friendships that I will continue to have for the rest of my life whether it be a professional, personal or mentor/mentee relationship.

Leave a Reply

