Get to Know Elizabeth Lafond, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

Elizabeth Lafond just finished her junior year at Bradley University as a Mechanical Engineering major concentrating in Biomedical Engineering. Elizabeth has been involved in SWE since her freshman year. She has served as the Outreach Chair during her sophomore and junior years and is serving as the Vice President during her senior year. At Bradley University, Elizabeth is involved in the Bradley Winds and Symphonic Band as a bassoonist, a member of Epsilon Sigma Alpha, works part time as a Street Team Member for local radio stations, 104.9 The Wolf and 102.3 Max FM, and participates in Tissue Engineering Research for her academic advisor. This summer, Elizabeth will be working as a biological research aid in the Agricultural Research Service for the National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research in Peoria, Illinois and continuing her research with her academic advisor.

Why did you apply for Region H SWEFL?

Being involved in my SWE chapter’s exec board only showed me one side to the organization. For as much as SWE has done for me on a collegiate level, I wanted to learn more what SWE does regionally and nationally for professionals. I also wanted to hone in my leadership skills and learn to delegate to my Outreach Committee, as well as the various projects throughout my academic career.

What does SWE mean to you?

To me, SWE is my rock when the classes get rough. SWE has taught me how to network and how to be the best person and future engineer that I can be. I have found my passion for engineering through SWE. And when I feel like I’m about to give up, SWE reminds me why I’m in this profession. Through SWE, I have found life-long friends. It’s hard to tell what’s going to happen in life and in my career, but what I do know for certain, is that SWE will always be with me for the ride.

CategoriesUncategorized

Leave a Reply

