Get to Know Amber Koeune, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

Amber Koeune just completedAmber Koeune her sophomore year in the Mechanical Engineering program at MSOE. She has been in SWE since her freshman year and served as the section secretary for the MSOE Section. She is a resident assistant in the MSOE Residence Halls and a MSOE American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) co-founder. Amber was a payload and launch team intern last summer for the Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium (WSGC) Elijah High Altitude Balloon Project in conjunction with NASA and has just began a summer quality engineering internship in the Eaton Corporation Industrial Sector as part of the Eaton Multicultural Summer Program. This September she will begin a yearlong exchange program in Lübeck, Germany where she will be able to obtain a second bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering through Lübeck University of Applied Sciences.

Why did you apply for Region H SWEFL?

I applied for the Region H SWE FL position to develop my leadership skills and create connections on the SWE Regional level in order to bring back useful information to my section to help us reach our goals.

What does SWE mean to you?

I love all of the programs SWE has created to encourage young women to consider a career path in engineering. SWE is a place where I feel comfortable challenging myself in a positive atmosphere.  The connections I have made as SWE member will help me in my future career. I have SWE to thank for many of the opportunities I have had so far as an undergraduate student. For example, I obtained my internship with Eaton Corporation after interviewing at the 2013 National Conference in Baltimore, MD.

CategoriesUncategorized

Leave a Reply

