Get to Know Tara Cullerton, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

Tara Cullerton is a junior at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign studying Materials Science & Engineering with a concentration in polymers. She became involved with SWE her freshman year and has been an active member of the Community Service Committee for two years. Next year she will serve as the Community Service Director. This summer she will be at U of I researching optical properties of materials.

Why did you apply for Region H SWEFL?

I applied for SWEFL because I was very excited for the opportunity to enhance my leadership skills and grow within SWE. I was also honored to be nominated and it was very empowering and allowed me to envision myself as a leader.

What does SWE mean to you?

SWE to me is like a family. It is an amazing organization that allows me to grow professionally, develop leadership skills, and become a better person all while being surrounded by some of my best friends and having a great time.

 

Leave a Reply

