Get to Know Kathryn Curtis, Your Region SWE Future Leader (SWEFL)!

kathryn curtisKathryn Curtis is a sophomore in Industrial Engineering at Bradley University in Peoria, IL. She has been involved in the Bradley SWE section since her freshman year, including currently being the webmaster for her section. She is also involved in APICS, the Bradley Symphonic Winds, and the Bradley Percussion Ensemble. For engineering internships, she has worked at Caterpillar Inc. located in Morton, IL.

Why did you apply to be SWEFL?

I applied to be a SWEFL because I wanted to get more involved in SWE and enhance my leadership skills.  I am very involved in my section, and getting the chance to meet women from other universities who share the same passion as me was an opportunity I could not pass up!  I did not realize that being a SWEFL would provide me with so many opportunities.  I was able to go to the National Conference in L.A. and participate in the Collegiate Leadership Institute where I had the chance to network and learn from professionals in the field.

What will you take away from the experience of being a SWEFL?

I will be able to be a more aware and active member in my university SWE section as well as the regional section.  I have learned so much during this year such as how to run effective meetings, how to be a proud female engineer, and how to overcome adversity in the workplace and life in general.  With these skills, I am a better-rounded person and have grown in my confidence and pride.

What does SWE mean to you?

SWE to me is a group of people who share a common passion for advocating women in engineering.  I get to enrich my skills and grow as a person every time I attend a SWE event all while being surrounded by my best friends and colleagues.  I am comfortable voicing my opinion and challenging myself in a positive environment where I know I am respected.

Leave a Reply

