Region Collegiate Membership Coordinator- Kelsey

IMG_4838 (2)

Hey there, thanks for checking out our blog! I’m Kelsey. I’m a sophomore in mechanical engineering at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Go Gophers! I’m originally from Columbia, Missouri, home to the University of Missouri where I explored my very first lab as a high school intern preparing gland cells for research. I found my passion for engineering a few years prior to that in middle school when a group of engineers visited one of my classes. As the Collegiate Membership Coordinator for Region H (RCMC) and one of the lead outreach directors for SWE at the University of Minnesota I hope to inspire girls to get involved in STEM fields like those engineers inspired me. In addition to my involvement in SWE I work in the Medical Robotic Device Lab at the U of M, squishing tissue and other technical things like that. In my free time I enjoy baking cookies with obscene amounts of chocolate and scrapbooking. I also love traveling, hiking, and I’m an avid Cardinals baseball fan. This year I’m looking forward to meeting SWEeties in other collegiate sections and encouraging kids to stay curious and explore science at outreach events.- Kelsey Harper

CategoriesUncategorized

Leave a Reply

